Violin Cocoon Vienna

ViolinCocoons are designed to effectively protect your instrument from external influences. They regulate humidity fluctuations, absorb temperature shock, and envelop your instrument’s sensitive surfaces with a soft, gentle covering. ViolinCocoons are fabricated by hand from the finest quality materials. We attach importance to the fact that these products are made under sustainable, socio-economically fair conditions in Austria.

Featuring a folded design, the Violin Cocoon Deluxe is made exclusively of natural materials that guarantee the best temperature for your instrument in summer and in winter. The summer model features two layers of pure silk that keep your instrument cool and regulate humidity. The winter model features a protective exterior warming layer made of wool, while the inner lining is made of pure silk. Our Fashion Model combines the advantages of our folded design with modern aesthetics: it features attractive fashion fabrics for the outer materials, and soft, gentle fabrics for the inner lining.

Design

The Violin Cocoon is designed on the basis of a folded pattern that is closely adapted to the instrument’s contours, gently enveloping it while avoiding any sort of closing mechanism or drawstring. Thus you don’t need to tie a string: the violin is laid inside the cocoon as if in a bed, and covered like a blanket. Each cocoon has a protective inner lining and different types of outer material. Cocoons are available in a multitude of fabrics and designs, ranging from Cocoon Casual (from fashion design fabrics) to silk and wool models, all the way to vintage models made of old kimono fabrics or silk brocade.

Our Violin Bag is a conventional bag with a drawstring, made of elastic jersey fabrics without an inner lining, available in a multitude of bright colors and attractive designs. Our violin bags are available for children’s violins in sizes 1/4, 1/2, and 3/4.

Fabrics

Only the best materials are used for our cocoons and bags. We use silk, various satins, traditional Austrian costume fabrics, authentic kimono silks, jersey, brocade, alcantara, wool, deerskin and of course colourful fashion fabrics. As we only produce small series and unique pieces by hand, our designs change according to the availability of the fabrics. 

The Vintage Line is made partially or entirely of vintage materials. For the Lotus-Deluxe-Vintage Cocoon we use original silk kimono fabrics. But we also use a series of further upcycling materials. Vintage materials correspond with the current outlook of our times, with an increased demand for sustainability. They testify to a beauty that lasts through the ages: its value does not fade away in the eye of the beholder. These fabrics were either originally sewn into a beautiful piece of clothing, or they found their way to us from the reserve stocks of passionate seamstresses. Of course these fabrics have been cleaned, but due to their historical nature they can show signs of wear and tear. 

Please note that we cannot always ascertain the exact composition of materials in vintage fabrics.

About Us

The violin has been our passion for over 30 years. The idea of conceiving the perfect protective cover for valuable string instruments saw the light of day in our violin making workshop in Vienna. Customers often spoke to us about this subject, which inspired us to design the Violin Cocoon. Our product line is on display at Bellinghausen Violins, Viktorgasse 22/18, 1040 Wien (Vienna), in selected violin making workshops in Austria, Switzerland and Germany. You can e-mail us for more information: info@violincocoon.com

Our seamstresses

Our Violin Cocoons are sewn in a sustainable, socio-economically fair business located in Vienna.

2020 Winter & Summer Collection Price List

Violin Cocoons Violin and Viola
“Fashion”: design fabric / design fabric € 129.00
“Summer”: design fabric / satin € 149.00

“Summer Luxe”: design fabric/ silk satin € 199.00
“Summer Deluxe”: silk / silk satin € 249.00
“Winter”: blend of wool / satin € 149.00

“Winter Luxe”: blend of wool/silk satin € 199.00
“Winter Deluxe”: pure wool / silk satin € 249.00
“Lotus Deluxe”: rare silks, brocades / silk satin € 349.00
“Lotus Deluxe Vintage”: old Japanese kimono fabrics, furs / silk satin € 349.00
Custom-made specimens available upon request

Violinbags/Violabags
elastic jersey fabric with drawstring € 49.00

Violinbags for children’s instruments 1/4, 1/2, 3/4
elastic jersey fabric with drawstring € 39.00

Cello Cocoons
currently in the design stage

Bowbag
currently in the design stage

Violin Cocoon Vienna

Unsere Violin Cocoons wurden entworfen, um Ihr Instrument und Ihren Bogen effektiv vor äußeren Einwirkungen zu schützen. Die Cocoons regulieren Schwankungen in der Luftfeuchtigkeit, federn thermische Schocks ab und ummanteln sanft die empfindlichen Oberflächen. Sie werden von Hand gefertigt und bestehen aus hochwertigsten Materialen. Nachhaltige und faire Bedingen bei der Produktion in Österreich sind für uns eine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Der Violin Cocoon deluxe ist eine Faltkonstruktion, ausschließlich aus Naturmaterialien hergestellt, die im Sommer wie im Winter die idealen thermischen Verhältnisse garantieren. Kühlend und luftfeuchtigkeitsregulierend das Sommermodell aus zwei Schichten reiner Seide. Das Wintermodell hat eine wärmende Außenschicht aus Wollstoff und ist mit reiner Seide gefüttert. Das Modell Fashion vereint die Vorzüge der Faltkonstruktion mit moderner Ästhetik, hier wird das Obermaterial aus ansprechenden Modestoffen mit zarten Innenstoffen gefüttert.

Der Entwurf

Der Violin Cocoon ist eine am Umriss des Instrumentes orientierte Faltkonstruktion, die ohne Verschlüsse oder Tunnelzüge auskommt und Ihr Instrument zart umhüllt. Lästiges Einfädeln wird vermieden, die Geige wird wie in ein Bett gelegt und zugedeckt. Jeder Cocoon besteht aus einem Außenmaterial und einem Futterstoff. Cocoons sind in vielen verschiedenen Materialien und Dessins erhältlich, vom Cocoon Casual aus Modestoffen über die Seiden- und Wollmodelle bis zu den Vintagemodellen aus alten Kimono- oder Seidenbrokatstoffen.

Der Violin Bag ist ein klassischer Beutel mit Tunnelzug aus ungefütterten Elastikjerseystoffen in vielen fröhlichen Farben und Mustern. Erhältlich auch für Kindergeigen ab ¼ Größe.

Die Stoffe

Für unsere Cocoons und Bags kommen nur die besten Materialien infrage. Wir verarbeiten Seide, verschiedene Satins, traditionelle österreichische Trachtenstoffe, authentische Kimonoseiden, Jersey, Brokate, Alcantara, Wolle, Hirschleder und natürlich farbenfrohe Modestoffe. Da wir nur Kleinserien und Unikate von Hand produzieren, wechseln unsere Dessins je nach Verfügbarkeit der Stoffe.

Die Vintage Linie wird teilweise oder vollständig aus Vintage-Materialien hergestellt. Für unseren Lotus- Deluxe-Vintage-Cocoon verwenden wir originale Seidenkimonostoffe, aber auch eine Reihe weiterer Upcycling-Materialien. Solche Kreationen sind immer mit dem Begriff “Vintage” gekennzeichnet. Vintage-Materialien entsprechen der aktuellen Ansicht unserer Zeit mit einem verstärkten Wunsch nach Nachhaltigkeit. Sie zeugen von einer Schönheit, die über die Jahrzehnte anhält: Ihr Wert verblasst nicht im Auge des Betrachters. Diese Stoffe wurden entweder ursprünglich in einem schönen Kleidungsstück vernäht, oder sie fanden ihren Weg zu uns aus den Beständen passionierter Näherinnen. Natürlich sind diese Stoffe gereinigt worden, aber aufgrund ihres historischen Charakters können sie Gebrauchsspuren aufweisen. 

Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir bei Vintage-Stoffen nicht immer die genaue Faserzusammensetzung angeben können. 

Über uns

Seit über 30 Jahren beschäftigen wir uns mit dem Thema Geigen. Entstanden ist die Idee einer perfekten Umhüllung von kostbaren Streichinstrumenten in unserer Geigenbauwerkstatt in Wien. Da wir immer wieder von unseren KundInnen auf dieses Thema angesprochen wurden, haben wir nun mit der Entwicklung des Violin Cocoons reagiert. Sie finden unsere textilen Kunstwerke in ausgesuchten Geigenbauwerkstätten in Österreich, der Schweiz und in Deutschland sowie in unserem Webshop. Unser Atelier finden Sie bei Bellinghausen Violins, Viktorgasse 22/18, 1040 Wien. Weitere Informationen unter: info@violincocoon.com

Unsere NäherInnen

Genäht werden unsere Cocoons in Wien in einem nachhaltig und fair wirtschaftenden Betrieb.

Preisliste 2020 Winter & Sommerkollektion

Violin Cocoons Violin und Viola
Fashion: Modestoff/Modestoff € 129.00
Summer: Modestoff/Satin € 149.00

Summer Luxe: Seide/ Satin € 199.00

Summer Deluxe: Seide/ Seidensatin € 249.00

Winter: Modestoff/Modestoff € 129.00

Winter Luxe: Reine Wolle/Satin € 199.00
Winter Deluxe: Reine Wolle/ Seidensatin € 249.00
Lotus Deluxe: Seltene Seiden,Brokate/Seidensatin € 349.00
Lotus Deluxe Vintage: Alte Kimonostoffe,Felle/Seidensatin € 349.00
Sonderanfertigungen: auf Nachfrage

Violinbags/Violabags
Elastikjersey mit Tunnelzug € 49,-

Kinderinstrumente 1/4 bis 3/4
Elastikjersey mit Tunnelzug € 39,-

Cocoons Violoncello
im Entwurf

Bowbag
im Entwurf